The John T Reid Charitable Trusts comprises two Trusts established in 1955 and 1963 that are administered together. One Trust gives funds to eligible organisations in Victoria, while the funding range of the other covers the whole of Australia. We are able to support charitable organisations within Australia that have Deductible Gift Recipient Status from the Australian Tax Office.

The John T Reid Charitable Trusts are governed by nine Trustees who manage the Trusts’ assets and distribute the income in line with the changing needs of the Australian community. The Trustees bring a broad range of professional skills and experience to the task, particularly in the areas of business/finance, the law and social policy. The Trustees include representatives of urban and regional Australia, as well as different states and territories. Of the nine Trustees, four are descendents of the Trusts’ founder and five are independent. A number of specialist advisors provide assistance, as required. The Trustees meet formally twice a year, to assess funding submissions and make appropriate distributions. Other regular meetings monitor investments and the progress of projects.

We fund small, medium and large organisations and place a high value on programs with the potential to advance collective knowledge and experience. Collaboration between organisations is encouraged to avoid duplication of resources and efforts.

The Trust office is based in Melbourne and is managed by three part-time staff. The office is open on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays throughout the year, with an annual closure over the Christmas/New Year period.

The Privacy Policy of the John T Reid Charitable Trusts is available from the office. Please contact us if you wish to receive a copy.

The John T Reid Charitable Trusts, created by the late Sir John Reid (1903 – 1984), is a family foundation. For over sixty years, three generations of family members have proudly continued his generous legacy.

Sir John’s philanthropy had as its basis that support from his Charitable Trusts allowed good people to get on with their own good work for the benefit of the community. This spirit of giving, combined with his wide networks, enquiring mind and support for humanitarian and social justice causes, ensured that funds went to a broad range of organisations well placed to have a positive impact on the Australian community. He gave his time willingly to several organisations committed to the welfare of the community, including the Rotary Club of Melbourne. Proud of Australia and committed to its future, he promoted the development of Australian intellectual and artistic life through his support of institutions such as the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute and the Victorian College of the Arts.

The Trust Deed, typical of the founder, is straightforward and open – charities and institutions in the fields of Social Welfare, Community Health, The Arts and Education could all be supported. In recent years, Environmental projects have been included with the concern over the sustainability of our future.

In the original Trust Deeds, Sir John provided some guidance for Trustees to:

  • Support with relatively large amounts to a small number of charities, rather than small amounts to many
  • Give to charities unable to secure government support
  • Give to specific projects rather than general purpose funds
  • Give special consideration to those charities, which Trustees think valuable to the community, but which lack popular appeal and support

In the early years, Sir John identified those in need through business and community contacts. The management of the John T Reid Charitable Trusts has developed over the years in line with the changes in the not-for-profit sector within Australia, with the development of administrative processes to manage the Trusts’ activities.


  • Mrs Belinda S Lawson, SRN, SCM, Chairman
  • Ms Cath S Webb, B.A., Dip Ed, Deputy Chairman
  • Mr Rob Anderson, Dip.Bus, CPA, GAICD
  • Mr Philip L Endersbee, B. Bus
  • Mr Doug L Goodman, LL. B.
  • Dr Barbara S Inglis, B.A. (Hons), M.-ès-L, Doc. de 3e Cycle, GAICD
  • Mr Andrew G McKenzie, Dip. Ap. Sci. Ag. Dip. Fin. Pl. (SIA) Grad Dip Bus Mgt
  • Ms Jane F Reid, B.A., LL.B. (Hons)
  • Mr Trevor R Thomas, B.E. (Hons), M.B.A.


We respectfully request that you do not send individual invitations addressed to each of our Trustees. We ask that you send one invitation addressed to “The Trustees of the John T Reid Charitable Trusts” and our administrative staff will ensure it is forwarded to the appropriate Trustee.


  • Mrs Debbie Ashbolt, B. Bus, ASIA, GAICD, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mrs Jessica Hurle, Office and Communications Manager
  • Mrs Melanie Robertson, Administration Officer
Back to top